H.R. No. 16

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, San Jacinto College was presented with a 2017 Rising
Star Award by the Aspen Institute on March 14, 2017, and this
notable achievement truly merits special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Chosen from among more than 1,000 community colleges from across the nation, San Jacinto ranked among the top five schools evaluated by the institute, based on its demonstrated excellence in the areas of academic achievement, degree completion, job placement, and access for minority and low-income students; along with the Rising Star title, the school received a \$100,000 prize; and

11 WHEREAS, San Jacinto College was established in 1961 and has 12 since grown to encompass 4 campuses and 10 extension centers 13 throughout the greater Houston area; it currently serves over 14 40,000 students, more than half of whom are underrepresented 15 minorities; within the last 10 years, the college has further 16 distinguished itself by boosting degree and certificate completion 17 rates by more than 160 percent; and

WHEREAS, Higher education plays an integral role in sustaining the prosperity of the Lone Star State, and through their dedication to expanding access and opportunities for their students, the members of the faculty, staff, and administration at San Jacinto College are making a positive difference in the lives of countless Texans; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate San Jacinto 2 College on its selection as a recipient of a 2017 Rising Star Award 3 from the Aspen Institute and extend to all those associated with the 4 school sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for San Jacinto College as an expression of high regard by 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Cain

H.R. No. 16

H.R. No. 16

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 16 was adopted by the House on August 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House