H.R. No. 17

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Shon Blake is retiring as chief of the Baytown Fire 2 Department in August 2017, drawing to a close an outstanding career 3 as a firefighter that has spanned more than four decades; and

WHEREAS, Chief Blake first joined the department in 1976, and over the course of his exemplary 41-year tenure, he steadily worked his way up through the ranks of the department, becoming a battalion chief in 1990 and assistant chief of operations in 2001; since his appointment as chief in October 2004, he has played a vital role in the growth of the department, spearheading efforts to improve training and expand emergency medical services; and

11 WHEREAS, A member of the National Fire Service Incident 12 Management System Consortium, Chief Blake has contributed to the 13 publication of six of the consortium's Model Procedures Guides; he 14 is also a principal member of the National Fire Protection 15 Association's Technical Committee on Occupational Safety and 16 Health Standards, and he serves on the Texas Commission on Fire 17 Protection Ad-Hoc Committee on Wellness and Fitness; and

WHEREAS, Chief Blake's dedication, professionalism, and commitment to protecting the lives and property of the public have greatly benefited the citizens of Baytown and earned him the respect and admiration of his fellow firefighters, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Shon Blake on
his retirement as chief of the Baytown Fire Department and extend to
him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Chief Blake as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Cain

H.R. No. 17

H.R. No. 17

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 17 was adopted by the House on August 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House