## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Groveton High School baseball team enjoyed a 2 memorable 2016-2017 season, advancing all the way to the Class 2A semifinal round of the University Interscholastic League state 3 tournament; and 4 WHEREAS, After going undefeated in district play, the Indians 5 continued their impressive winning streak in the postseason, 6 7 overcoming teams from Normangee, Joaquin, Lovelady, and Simms Bowie High Schools to reach the regional finals against Woden; after 8

9 dropping the first game of the series, the Groveton ball club 10 rallied and secured back-to-back victories to earn a berth in the

11 state tournament for the first time in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, Facing off against the squad from Big Sandy High School in the semifinal game at the Dell Diamond in Round Rock, the Indians gave a valiant effort but ultimately fell short, concluding the season with an outstanding record of 31 wins and just 4 losses; and

WHEREAS, Groveton's achievements were the result of a true 17 team effort, and the Indians received valuable contributions 18 throughout the year from each member of the roster: Chance Coker, 19 Tanner Ebarb, Cade Steubing, Anthony Chavez, Ryan Luna, Caleb 20 21 Yarbrough, Saul Chavez, Chance Hart, Jacob Scroggins, Anderson, Spencer Pope, Cody Fairchild, Glenn Thornton, Haden 22 23 Terry, Blake Hollis, Braxton Terry, and Trey Hance; the players were ably guided by head coach Wayne Williams and assistant coach 24

- 1 Richard Steubing; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The talented student-athletes of the Groveton High
- 3 baseball team have demonstrated hard work and an unwavering
- 4 commitment to excellence, and they are a source of tremendous pride
- 5 and inspiration to their classmates and their many supporters in
- 6 the local community; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 8 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Groveton
- 9 High School baseball team on its success during the 2016-2017
- 10 season and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere
- 11 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 22

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray

Wu Zedler

Zerwas

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Geren

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

H.R. No. 22

-----<del>-</del>

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 22 was adopted by the House on July 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House