## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Each year, the date of July 18 is recognized as
- 2 Nelson Mandela International Day, providing a welcome opportunity
- 3 to celebrate the life of a courageous and inspirational figure who
- 4 is revered around the globe; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born into the Tembu tribe in the Transkei region of
- 6 South Africa in 1918, Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela earned a degree
- 7 from University College of Fort Hare and studied law at the
- 8 University of Witwatersrand; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In 1944, Mr. Mandela joined the African National
- 10 Congress, and he soon became actively engaged in resistance against
- 11 the racist apartheid policies of South Africa's ruling National
- 12 Party; as part of that effort, he helped launch the "Defiance"
- 13 campaign of civil disobedience in 1952; the government responded by
- 14 trying him for treason in the late 1950s, though he was ultimately
- 15 acquitted of that charge; and
- WHEREAS, After the Sharpeville Massacre of 69 anti-apartheid
- 17 protestors in 1960, the ANC was banned, and Mr. Mandela began
- 18 advocating for armed resistance to the government; arrested in
- 19 1962, he was sentenced to five years of hard labor, and in a
- 20 separate trial that began the following year, he was sentenced to
- 21 life in prison; and
- WHEREAS, From 1964 to 1982, Mr. Mandela was jailed in a small
- 23 cell on Robben Island, off the coast of Cape Town, and he was later
- 24 incarcerated at two prisons on the mainland; during his 25 years as

- 1 a prisoner, he endured harsh conditions while steadfastly refusing
- 2 to compromise his belief in justice and equal rights for all South
- 3 Africans; his valiant stand helped strengthen opposition to
- 4 apartheid, both within South Africa and around the world; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The anti-apartheid movement achieved one of its
- 6 greatest victories in 1990, when Mr. Mandela was released from
- 7 prison, and he soon became a key figure in the negotiations to
- 8 dismantle the country's unjust system of government; he received
- 9 the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993, and the following year he was elected
- 10 as South Africa's president in the nation's first multiracial
- 11 election; and
- WHEREAS, In 2009, the General Assembly of the United Nations
- 13 voted unanimously to commemorate his birthday each year as Nelson
- 14 Mandela International Day; this observance emphasizes the ability
- 15 of individuals to effect positive change in their communities, and
- 16 it serves as a continuing reminder of the legacy of Mr. Mandela, who
- 17 passed away on December 5, 2013, at the age of 95; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of his life, Nelson Mandela followed
- 19 a difficult and often lonely path in the pursuit of justice;
- 20 starting as an idealistic student determined to make his country a
- 21 better place, he went on to become a resolute and determined
- 22 prisoner of conscience and, finally, an admired international
- 23 figure who symbolizes the victory of freedom over oppression; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby recognize July 18, 2017, as
- 3 Nelson Mandela International Day.

Giddings

Burrows Keough Schaefer Cain Keough Schaefer Cain King of Hemphill Schofield Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Clardy Klick Sheffield Coleman Koop Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Lang Stickland Cyrier Larson Stucky Dale Laubenberg Thierry Darby Leach Thompson of Brazori Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazori Davis of Harris Lozano Tinderholt Dean Lucio III Turner Deshotel Martinez Uresti Dukes Metcalf VanDeaver Dutton Meyer Villalba Elkins Miller Vo Faircloth Minjarez Walle Fallon Moody White Farrar Morrison Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Workman Frank Murphy Wray Frullo Murr Wu Geren Neave Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zerwas
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zerwas Giddings Oliveira

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 34 was a	dopted by the House on July 18,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 34

2017, by a non-record vote.