H.R. No. 116

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Cane Island Alers have won the 2017 Gambrinus
Club Award, a prize presented by the American Homebrewers
Association; and

WHEREAS, Each year, the AHA hosts the National Homebrew Competition, which recognizes the best homemade beer, mead, and cider from across the nation and around the world; the 2017 contest featured more than 8,600 entries from 3,530 brewers representing all 50 states and 13 foreign countries; the final 1,134 entries were evaluated by some of the nation's top beer judges at the annual National Homebrewers Conference in Minneapolis; and

11 WHEREAS, Named for King Gambrinus, the unofficial patron 12 saint of beer, the Gambrinus Club Award is presented each year to 13 the brewing club that wins the most final round points per number of 14 entries in the national competition; in addition, at least two of 15 the winning club's members must have advanced to, and one member 16 must have placed in, the final round; and

WHEREAS, Cane Island Alers is a club of home brewers in the Katy area; two of its members helped propel the group to victory by earning individual honors: Ryan DeLaRosa, of Houston, won first place in the stout category, and David Rogers, of Cypress, took second place in the bock category; and

WHEREAS, The Cane Island Alers are making their own creative and distinctive contributions to a tradition that dates back millennia, and this prestigious award is a testament to the

1

H.R. No. 116 1 enormous skill, enthusiasm, and dedication that they bring to their 2 craft; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Cane Island Alers on winning the Gambrinus Club Award from the American Homebrewers Association and extend to its members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the Cane Island Alers as an expression of high regard 10 by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Schofield Bell Zerwas

2

H.R. No. 116

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 116

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 116 was adopted by the House on August 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House