By: Schofield

H.R. No. 116

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Cane Island Alers have won the 2017 Gambrinus
Club Award, a prize presented by the American Homebrewers
Association; and

WHEREAS, Each year, the AHA hosts the National Homebrew Competition, which recognizes the best homemade beer, mead, and cider from across the nation and around the world; the 2017 contest featured more than 8,600 entries from 3,530 brewers representing all 50 states and 13 foreign countries; the final 1,134 entries were evaluated by some of the nation's top beer judges at the annual National Homebrewers Conference in Minneapolis; and

11 WHEREAS, Named for King Gambrinus, the unofficial patron 12 saint of beer, the Gambrinus Club Award is presented each year to 13 the brewing club that wins the most final round points per number of 14 entries in the national competition; in addition, at least two of 15 the winning club's members must have advanced to, and one member 16 must have placed in, the final round; and

WHEREAS, Cane Island Alers is a club of home brewers in the Katy area; two of its members helped propel the group to victory by earning individual honors: Ryan DeLaRosa, of Houston, won first place in the stout category, and David Rogers, of Cypress, took second place in the bock category; and

22 WHEREAS, The Cane Island Alers are making their own creative 23 and distinctive contributions to a tradition that dates back 24 millennia, and this prestigious award is a testament to the

1

H.R. No. 116 1 enormous skill, enthusiasm, and dedication that they bring to their 2 craft; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Cane Island Alers on winning the Gambrinus Club Award from the American Homebrewers Association and extend to its members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the Cane Island Alers as an expression of high regard 10 by the Texas House of Representatives.

2