H.R. No. 117

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Gwen Grigsby is retiring as associate vice president 2 for governmental relations at The University of Texas at Austin in 3 2017, concluding an outstanding career in higher education that has 4 spanned nearly four decades; and

5 WHEREAS, Since assuming the associate vice president post in 6 1997, Ms. Grigsby has helped to support the university in its 7 pursuit of excellence in education, research, health care, and 8 service by effectively representing the interests of the UT System 9 to various governmental entities; moreover, she has provided a 10 thoughtful, practical perspective on the broader legislative 11 environment throughout her notable tenure; and

WHEREAS, Known for her calm and measured approach to her work, Ms. Grigsby previously served as education policy advisor for Lieutenant Governor Bill Hobby from 1978 to 1985 and as assistant vice chancellor for governmental relations with the UT System for more than a decade; a graduate of Texas Tech University, where she earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education, she also holds a master's degree from the LBJ School of Public Affairs at UT; and

WHEREAS, Through her expertise, skill, and tireless dedication, Gwen Grigsby has earned the lasting respect and admiration of her colleagues, and she may reflect with pride on her many achievements as she embarks on the next exciting chapter of her life; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Gwen Grigsby 2 on her retirement as associate vice president for governmental 3 relations at The University of Texas at Austin and extend to her 4 sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Grigsby as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

> Morrison Howard

H.R. No. 117

H.R. No. 117

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 117

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 117 was adopted by the House on August 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House