RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Anne Cozart of Tarrant County is retiring as 2 district director in the office of State Representative Charlie 3 Geren on July 31, 2017, drawing to a close more than 14 years of 4 exemplary service to the citizens of District 99; and

5 WHEREAS, Since becoming a legislative employee, Ms. Cozart 6 has contributed to the workings of state government firsthand; 7 handling a wide variety of challenging tasks, she has provided 8 vital leadership, served as a liaison with constituents, and 9 ensured the efficient operation of the district office; and

joining Representative Geren's 10 WHEREAS, Before team, 11 Ms. Cozart was a bilingual teacher in the Fort Worth Independent 12 School District, where she served for more than four decades; she was the first woman on the board of Castleberry Independent School 13 14 District, serving for 21 years, and she was a member of the board of the Texas Association for Students in Bilingual Education for seven 15 16 years; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Cozart has further contributed to her community 17 as a member of the Northwest Tarrant, Saginaw Area, and Tri-County 18 Chambers of Commerce, and in 2017, she received the Lifetime 19 20 Achievement Award from the Northwest Tarrant chamber; she is a member of the Ninety-Nines, an international organization of women 21 pilots, and she has served on the Fort Worth Aviation Advisory 22 23 Board; moreover, she was named Civilian Fire Fighter of the Year for her work in ensuring the placement of smoke alarms in area homes; 24

1

1 and

2 WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Ms. Cozart enjoys the love and 3 support of her husband, Gene, her three daughters and their 4 spouses, Genie and James Bandy, Deanna and David Rutledge, and 5 Angie and Dennis Haar, and her granddaughter, Brade Rutledge; she 6 is also an active congregant of River Oaks Baptist Church; and

7 WHEREAS, Anne Cozart's dedication, professionalism, and 8 integrity have greatly benefited her fellow Texans and earned her 9 the respect and admiration of her colleagues, and she may indeed 10 reflect with pride on a career well spent as she embarks on the next 11 exciting chapter of her life; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 13 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Anne Cozart on 14 her retirement as district director for State Representative 15 Charlie Geren and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; 16 and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Ms. Cozart as an expression of high regard by the Texas 19 House of Representatives.

Geren

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 121 was adopted by the House on July 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House