RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On the occasion of its 50th anniversary in 2017,
Gene's Photos in Gainesville has been honored with a Texas Treasure
Business Award from the Texas Historical Commission; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Treasure Business Award recognizes the contributions of Texas-based enterprises that have created jobs and enriched the state's economy for 50 years or more; and

7 WHEREAS, Founder and owner Gene Brown received a Polaroid Swinger camera on his 10th birthday, sparking a lifelong passion 8 9 for photography; in college, he won the Texas Collegiate Press Photography Award, and in February 1967, he started Gene's Photos, 10 11 working as a photographer of weddings, family reunions, and 12 portraits, and handling commercial and aerial photography; in the early years, his father helped with the developing and his mother 13 14 did the books, and in 1975, his wife, Sherry, joined the business; 15 and

WHEREAS, The studio has relocated into larger quarters 16 several times, and since 1987, Gene's Photos has been situated in 17 the old First National Bank building on the Cooke County Courthouse 18 square, where Mr. Brown now works with state-of-the-art digital 19 20 technology; he has photographed many famous individuals over the years, including radio personality Paul Harvey, President Richard 21 Nixon, movie legend John Wayne, and Miss America 1971, Phyllis 22 23 George; and

24

WHEREAS, Small businesses play a critical role in meeting the

1

1 needs of area residents and sustaining the prosperity of the Lone 2 Star State, and over the course of half a century, and more than 3 1,000 weddings, Gene's Photos has contributed to the social and 4 economic fabric of Gainesville; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Gene's Photos 7 on its 50th anniversary and its receipt of a 2017 Texas Treasure 8 Business Award and extend to Gene and Sherry Brown sincere best 9 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Brown as an expression of high regard by 12 the Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 144 was adopted by the House on August 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House