H.R. No. 145

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Estes Exterminating in Gainesville has been honored
- 2 with a 2017 Texas Treasure Business Award by the Texas Historical
- 3 Commission; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Texas Treasure Business Award recognizes the
- 5 contributions of Texas-based enterprises that have created jobs and
- 6 enriched the state's economy for 50 years or more; and
- 7 WHEREAS, In 1934, Jasper Guy Estes combined his knowledge as
- 8 an eighth grade science teacher with his experience tending trees
- 9 while growing up on a peach farm and founded Estes Exterminating, a
- 10 professional pest control, termite control, and tree care service;
- 11 and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Estes served Cooke County until his retirement
- 13 in 1978, when the company was taken over by his son, Ray Guy Estes;
- 14 the younger Mr. Estes expanded the business, and in 1988, his sons
- 15 opened a second office in Granbury in Hood County; in 2005, Ray Guy
- 16 Estes turned over the daily operation of this venerable family
- 17 business to the third generation, and today his son, Glenn Ray
- 18 Estes, continues the family's tradition of outstanding customer
- 19 service; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Small businesses play a critical role in meeting the
- 21 needs of area residents and in sustaining the prosperity of the Lone
- 22 Star State, and it is fitting that this notable enterprise be
- 23 commended for its long-standing contributions to the economy of its
- 24 community; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 145

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Estes
- 3 Exterminating on its receipt of a 2017 Texas Treasure Business
- 4 Award and extend to the Estes family and their employees sincere
- 5 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Estes Exterminating as an expression of high regard by
- 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 145

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Murr Neave Nevárez	
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

H.R.	No.	145

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 145 was adopted by the House on August 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House