H.R. No. 165

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For 58 years, families have come together to
- 2 celebrate their faith at the Fountain of Praise in Houston; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1959 as South Post Oak Baptist Church,
- 4 the congregation has since played a vital role in the community,
- 5 providing area residents with myriad opportunities for spiritual
- 6 enrichment, fellowship, and community outreach; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The church has benefited from the tireless efforts
- 8 of several dedicated members of the clergy; in 1991, the
- 9 congregation hired its seventh pastor, Dr. Remus E. Wright, and he
- 10 has guided it through an era of remarkable growth with the
- 11 assistance of his wife, Mia Wright, who serves as the co-pastor and
- 12 director of ministry; under their leadership, membership has
- 13 expanded from 150 members to more than 24,000; and
- WHEREAS, In 1998, the church purchased 19 acres of land on
- 15 Hillcroft Avenue and adopted its present-day name; the new
- 16 sanctuary was dedicated on July 27, 2002, and five years later, the
- 17 congregation bought another building half a mile north to establish
- 18 its FountainLife Center for the community; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The Fountain of Praise has long served as a source of
- 20 inspiration and guidance to those who worship there, and its
- 21 continued existence is a tribute to the unwavering commitment of
- 22 its members, both past and present; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate the 58th

H.R. No. 165

- 1 anniversary of the Fountain of Praise and extend to the members of
- 2 the church sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Reynolds

TT	ח	TAT C	165
н	ĸ	NΩ	וחח

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 165 was adopted by the House on August 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House