RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the Lakewest Family YMCA swim team 2 distinguished themselves with their fine showing at the 2017 YMCA 3 Lone Star Swim Championship, held July 20-23 at the Frisco 4 Independent School District Natatorium; and

5 WHEREAS, Facing off against other top teams in the summer 6 division, the Jets turned in an outstanding performance to finish 7 in fifth place at the event; in advance of the state contest, the 8 squad participated in meets across the Dallas/Fort Worth area, and 9 the swimmers spent hundreds of hours sharpening their skills in the 10 water; and

11 WHEREAS, The group excelled with a true team effort, 12 receiving valuable contributions from each member of the roster: Isabelle Bogale, Sean Brownfield, Samuel Cisneros, Bianca Escobar, 13 14 Andrea Martinez, Estrella Martinez, Karuna Philip, Luke Philip, Myra Philip, Vivek Philip, Charis Wagner, Nessia Wagner, Talia 15 16 Wagner, Timothy Williams, and Isaac Wudu; the Jets also benefited from the guidance and support of volunteers Veronica Aguero, Biniam 17 Patricia Brownfield, Jennifer Escobar, Samirawit 18 Bogale, Hailemariam, LaRosa Harris, Maria Martinez, Christo and Melissa 19 20 Philip, and Jerry and Temira Wagner; and

21 WHEREAS, These talented young athletes have demonstrated 22 skill, hard work, and an unwavering commitment to perform at the 23 highest level, and they are a source of tremendous pride to their 24 families and to their many supporters in the local community; now,

1

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Jets swim team from Lakewest Family YMCA on its success at the 2017 YMCA Lone Star Swim Championship and extend to the team sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Johnson of Dallas

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 167 was adopted by the House on August 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House