RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Three schools from the Brazosport Independent
- 2 School District earned a top rating from the Texas Education Agency
- 3 as a result of student performance on the State of Texas Assessments
- 4 of Academic Readiness tests administered in 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, To ensure that all students in Texas benefit from
- 6 the highest standards of education, TEA instituted a new
- 7 accountability rating system for the state's public schools and
- 8 districts in 2013; for a campus to gain "met standard"
- 9 classification, it must reach the target requirements in categories
- 10 that include student achievement, student progress, closing
- 11 performance gaps, and postsecondary readiness; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Brazosport ISD campuses that attained this
- 13 distinction include O. A. Fleming Elementary School, Jane Long
- 14 Elementary School, and R. O'Hara Lanier Middle School; their
- 15 success comes as part of a districtwide effort to implement
- 16 turnaround initiatives of data analysis, needs assessments, and
- 17 improvement planning; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The educators and young people at these schools have
- 19 demonstrated outstanding dedication and perseverance in their
- 20 pursuit of academic excellence, and they may indeed take
- 21 justifiable pride in this prestigious designation from the State of
- 22 Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Brazosport

- 1 ISD schools that achieved the top rating on the 2017 STAAR tests;
- 2 and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 184 was adopted by the House on August 7, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House