H.R. No. 195

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, David Downs concluded his service as a member of the 2 Plano City Council in 2017, and the outstanding contributions made 3 by this esteemed public servant are indeed deserving of 4 recognition; and

5 WHEREAS, A longtime resident of Plano, Mr. Downs was elected 6 to represent Place 8 on the city council in 2013; during his four 7 years in office, he ably guided the city with an eye to the future, 8 and his expertise in a range of community issues has earned him the 9 respect of his colleagues and fellow citizens alike; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Downs holds a bachelor's degree in finance from 10 11 the University of Illinois, and he began his career as a financial 12 advisor in Chicago; a recipient of the 2012 Leadership Plano Distinguished Leadership Award, he has given generously of his time 13 14 and talents to many worthy organizations, including the Boy Scouts of America, the ArtCentre of Plano, the Collin College Education 15 16 Foundation, the Collin County Healthcare Foundation, and Medical City Plano; in all his endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of 17 his wife, Chris, and he takes immense pride in his two sons; and 18

WHEREAS, By providing thoughtful leadership and effectively representing the interests of their constituents, city council members strive each day to improve the quality of life in their communities, and the laudable efforts of David Downs have helped to make Plano an even better place in which to live and work; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 195

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend David Downs for his 3 exemplary service on the Plano City Council and extend to him 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Downs as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Leach

H.R. No. 195

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 195 was adopted by the House on August 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House