By: White H.R. No. 206

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Hardin-Jefferson Independent School District

2 Board of Trustees has been selected as a 2017 Honor School Board by

3 the Texas Association of School Administrators; and

4 WHEREAS, The TASA School Board Awards Program was created in

5 1971 to recognize school boards that prioritize student needs and

6 achievement; winners are selected by a committee of Texas

7 superintendents using a range of criteria, including support for

8 educational performance and improvement projects, commitment to a

9 code of ethics, and cooperation among school board members;

10 Hardin-Jefferson is one of only five boards in the state to be named

11 a finalist for the 2017 Outstanding School Board title; and

12 WHEREAS, Working closely with superintendent Dr. Shannon

13 Holmes, as well as with parents, teachers, and community leaders,

14 the Hardin-Jefferson board of trustees has focused on setting

15 policies that promote a learning environment in which all students

16 have the opportunity to thrive; the members of the board are

17 president Michelle Yentzen, vice president Mark Aldrich, secretary

18 Andrew Brooks, and trustees Gary Hidalgo, James Padgett, Alex

19 Stelly Jr., and Brent Walters; and

20 WHEREAS, These dedicated public officials have demonstrated

21 an outstanding commitment to promoting academic excellence and to

22 ensuring a bright future for their community, and they may indeed

23 take great pride in this notable accomplishment; now, therefore, be

24 it

H.R. No. 206

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the
- 3 Hardin-Jefferson Independent School District Board of Trustees on
- 4 its selection as a 2017 Honor School Board by the Texas Association
- 5 of School Administrators and extend to each of its members sincere
- 6 best wishes for continued success with their important work; and,
- 7 be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.