RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A life lived with kindness and purpose drew to a close with the passing of noted speechwriter Suzanne Coleman of Austin on July 13, 2017, at the age of 70; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of William Clovis Coleman and Amelia Lary Coleman, Suzanne Coleman was born in Fort Worth on December 24, 1946; she graduated from Paschal High School and completed her bachelor's degree in political science and history at Texas

9 subsequently, she earned a master's degree in political science

Christian University, where she was a member of Kappa Alpha Theta;

10 from The University of Texas at Arlington and pursued doctoral

11 studies at Rice University, but she left academia to volunteer in

12 the gubernatorial primary campaign of Frances Tarlton "Sissy"

13 Farenthold; and

8

14 WHEREAS, Ms. Coleman forged a remarkable career in politics, employing her skill as a wordsmith to support enduring democratic 15 16 values; she gained wide recognition as chief speechwriter for Ann W. Richards, channeling the charismatic governor's bold, witty 17 speaking style and helping elevate simple stories from everyday 18 life into moving commentary that evoked a sense of community; 19 empathetic as well as eloquent, she was equally adept at crafting 20 21 the penetrating one-liner and gracefully revealing the sentimental streak that she and the governor shared; those for whom she wrote 22 23 also included two University of Texas System officials, chancellor Mark G. Yudof and executive vice chancellor for health affairs 24

- 1 Dr. Kenneth Shine; and
- WHEREAS, The devoted partner of Mary Jane Leahy, whom she met
- 3 in 1989, Ms. Coleman relished their trips to New Mexico and their
- 4 political discussions, the latter not least when they took place
- 5 over a special and lengthy meal; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Suzanne Coleman created a powerful legacy through
- 7 her words, all chosen with the utmost care, and those she has left
- 8 behind will forever cherish their memories of her wisdom,
- 9 integrity, thoughtfulness, and wonderfully wry sense of humor; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
- 13 Suzanne Coleman and extend sincere condolences to the members of
- 14 her family: to her partner, Mary Jane Leahy; to her cousins, Mary
- 15 Land, Melinda Lary-Smith, Lee Ann O'Loughlin, and Amelia Ann Kerby
- 16 Haltom and her son, Kerby; to her treasured friend, Mimi Purnell;
- 17 and to all those who mourn her passing; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 20 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Suzanne
- 21 Coleman.

Hinojosa Israel Rodriguez of Travis Howard

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 216 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on August 10, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House