By: Flynn H.R. No. 222

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Edom Volunteer Fire Department is celebrating 2 the 50th anniversary of its founding on August 19, 2017; and 3 WHEREAS, Recognizing the need for an organized fire response system in their community, a group of concerned citizens in Edom 4

began meeting in 1967; the newly formed committee received a small government grant to purchase a fire truck and appointed Noah Price 6

7 as the first fire chief; the following year, a lease was secured to

build a fire station downtown, and in the 1980s, that facility was 8

9 expanded to accommodate the growing needs of the department; and

WHEREAS, In 2003, Edom VFD consolidated with the nearby 10 11 Callender Lake Volunteer Fire Department to form a second station

12 in Edom; with an increasing coverage area, a new station No. 1,

featuring eight truck bays, was built in 2009, and later that year, 13

14 the department formed a partnership with Champion EMS to provide

local residents with additional emergency services; in 2011, an 15

updated station No. 2, with four truck bays, was added; today, the 16

Edom VFD consists of 30 volunteer members, and the department 17

operates 11 trucks; and 18

5

WHEREAS, For half a century, the dedicated and courageous 19

20 firefighters of the Edom Volunteer Fire Department have devoted

21 themselves to protecting the lives and property of their fellow

22 citizens, and this notable milestone presents a fitting opportunity

23 to recognize their vital contributions to the community; now,

24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 222

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate the 50th
- 3 anniversary of the Edom Volunteer Fire Department and extend to its
- 4 members sincere best wishes for continued success with their
- 5 important work; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the Edom Volunteer Fire Department as an expression of
- 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.