H.R. No. 227

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For more than 20 years, the Hunters for the Hungry
- 2 program has been working with hunger relief agencies to help feed
- 3 Texans in need; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Protein constitutes a vital component of
- 5 well-balanced, nutritious meals, and numerous food assistance
- 6 providers have reported a need for more protein supplies to serve
- 7 their clients; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Through the Hunters for the Hungry program, which is
- 9 part of the nonprofit Feeding Texas network, Texans can donate
- 10 legally tagged and field-dressed deer to participating processors;
- 11 the venison is then prepared for distribution to local food banks
- 12 and pantries, soup kitchens, and other groups; since the program's
- 13 launch, hunters have provided over two million pounds of meat,
- 14 creating an estimated 9.3 million servings of protein-rich food;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, In 2015, the state legislature passed a bill
- 17 allowing Texas hunters to make donations to Hunters for the Hungry
- 18 when purchasing hunting licenses; more than \$88,000 was collected
- 19 during this legislation's inaugural year, helping to offset the
- 20 cost of processing more than 50,000 pounds of donated venison; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Hunters for the Hungry is helping to alleviate food
- 22 insecurity for countless Texas children, seniors, and families, and
- 23 the program and all those associated with it are indeed deserving of
- 24 special recognition; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 227

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Hunters for the
- 3 Hungry and encourage Texans to support this worthwhile program.

Cyrier

H.R. No. 227

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr.

Workman

Zerwas

Wray

Wu Zedler

Murphy

Murr

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Frank

Geren

Frullo

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

Н	•	ĸ	•	IN	O	•	22	/

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 227 was adopted by the House on August 7, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House