RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The law firm of Naman, Howell, Smith and Lee is

celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2017, and this milestone is

3 indeed deserving of special recognition; and

WHEREAS, One of the oldest law practices in Texas, the firm

5 was founded in 1917 in Waco, and it has since expanded to encompass

offices in Austin, Fort Worth, and San Antonio, allowing it to

7 engage in a broad statewide practice extending all the way from the

8 Red River to the Rio Grande Valley; and

2

6

9 WHEREAS, Today, Naman, Howell, Smith and Lee represents a

10 wide variety of clients in many areas of law, including litigation,

11 business, estate planning, telecommunications, tax, real estate,

12 oil and gas, banking, tax exempt financing, intellectual property,

13 practice before state agencies, labor and employment, and

14 agriculture, as well as the representation of cities and other

15 local governmental entities; and

16 WHEREAS, Many attorneys from this storied firm have been

17 active in the State Bar of Texas and other professional

18 associations; Cullen Smith and Jim Bowmer have served as presidents

19 of the state bar, Wilford Naman was the chair of the state bar's

20 board of directors, and Mr. Smith and Roy Barrett were each former

21 presidents of the Texas Young Lawyers Association; Hilton H. Howell

22 and Hayes Fuller served as presidents of the Texas Association of

23 Defense Counsel, and a number of the firm's attorneys have held

24 membership on the boards of the state bar and the TYLA; moreover,

- 1 many have held the office of president of their local bar
- 2 associations; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Several members of the firm have established
- 4 distinguished records in public service; before joining Naman,
- 5 Howell, Smith and Lee, George Cowden served as a Texas state
- 6 representative, chair of the State Board of Insurance, and chair of
- 7 the Public Utility Commission; Jerry "Nub" Donaldson also served in
- 8 the Texas House of Representatives, and David Sibley served in the
- 9 Texas Senate; after retiring from the firm, George Chase became an
- 10 associate justice of the 10th Court of Appeals in Waco; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Seven members of Naman, Howell, Smith and Lee have
- 12 been elected to fellowship in the American College of Trial
- 13 Lawyers, an invitation-only honor for exceptional attorneys who
- 14 have demonstrated the very highest standards of trial advocacy,
- 15 ethical conduct, integrity, professionalism, and collegiality; the
- 16 firm's lawyers who have received this prestigious recognition are
- 17 Wilford Naman, Jim Bowmer, Bob Burleson, Louis Muldrow, Roy
- 18 Barrett, Larry Brady, and Larry Warren; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The 44th largest law practice in Texas, Naman,
- 20 Howell, Smith and Lee was selected in 2015 by American Lawyer Media
- 21 and Martindale-Hubbell as one of the nation's Top Ranked Law Firms,
- 22 a distinction achieved by only about one percent of the nearly
- 23 254,000 firms evaluated; and
- WHEREAS, The practice's current president, Hayes Fuller,
- 25 follows in the footsteps of past presidents Cullen Smith, J. Rodney
- 26 Lee, Albert Witcher, Wesley Filer, and Roy Barrett; Mr. Barrett
- 27 serves as chairman of the board and is ably assisted by a

- 1 member-elected executive committee composed of Keith Gamel and
- 2 Clark Aspy from the Austin office, Charles Mitchell from Fort
- 3 Worth, Ben Selman and Jordan Mayfield from Waco, and Larry Warren
- 4 from San Antonio; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The lawyers in the firm's Austin office include
- 6 Clark Aspy, Cliff Blount, Clifton Bowling, Whitney Broadwater,
- 7 George Cowden, Dennis Donley, Bradley Douglas, Michael Duncan,
- 8 Keith Gamel, James Howard, Rachel Heckelman, Curt Kurhajec, Jay
- 9 Lea, David LeBas, Steve Morris, Stephanie Potter, Chris Sayers,
- 10 J. Baird Smith, and Frank Tuttle; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Representing the firm in Fort Worth are Jennifer
- 12 Andrews, Lindsay Daniel, Grant Liser, Sandra Liser, Charles
- 13 Mitchell, Shane O'Dell, Ray Palmer, and Jackie Robinson; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The legal staff in the San Antonio office includes
- 15 Georgina Buckley, Mark Cooper, J. Mark Craun, Erik Krudop,
- 16 J. K. Leonard, Averie Maldonado, Mike Myers, Steve Navarro, David
- 17 Ortega, James Parker, Karl T. Rivas, Andrew Stamper, and Larry
- 18 Warren; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The practice's original office in Waco is
- 20 represented by Jeff Armstrong, Roy Barrett, Charles Barrow, Nick
- 21 Bray, Jerry Campbell, Cara Chase, Andrew Clark, Wesley Filer, Hayes
- 22 Fuller, Kerry Haliburton, John Hawkins, Trenton Hood, Paul Hubbard,
- 23 Kyle Knas, Robert Little, Jordan Mayfield, Nancy Morrison, Kristen
- 24 Mynar, John Palmer, Lindsey Philpott, Neal Pirkle, Dan Pleitz, Andy
- 25 Powell, Jeanine Rispoli, Joe Rivera, Stephanie Schwab, Ben Selman,
- 26 Laura Swann, Cullen Smith, Tod Swann, Vicky Trompler, and Albert
- 27 Witcher; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Naman, Howell, Smith and Lee
- 2 has rendered vital service to its clients throughout the Lone Star
- 3 State, and its current partners and associates may indeed take
- 4 pride in the legacy of legal excellence that has been built by the
- 5 firm over the course of the past century; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 7 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Naman,
- 8 Howell, Smith and Lee on its centennial and extend to all those
- 9 associated with the firm sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 10 and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the firm as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

H.R.	No.	273

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 273 was adopted by the House on August 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House