H.R. No. 275

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Roy C. Brooks, Tarrant County Commissioner for
- 2 Precinct 1, was named president of the National Association of
- 3 Counties on July 24, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1935, the National Association of
- 5 Counties brings together county officials from across the country
- 6 to exchange ideas, build leadership skills, advocate national
- 7 policy issues, and increase the public's understanding of local
- 8 government; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Brooks has been active in the association since
- 10 1991, and he most recently served as chair of its Large Urban County
- 11 Caucus; over the years, he has been a member of the group's board of
- 12 directors, and he has chaired the Health Reform Subcommittee of its
- 13 Health Steering Committee as well as the Healthy Counties
- 14 Initiative Advisory Board; and
- WHEREAS, This notable Texan was elected a Tarrant County
- 16 commissioner in 2004, and since taking office, he has supported a
- 17 range of causes related to health care access, infant mortality,
- 18 obesity, criminal justice reform, mental health, and AIDS
- 19 awareness; he has also played a vital role in the Tarrant County
- 20 Ex-Offender Re-Entry Program, the Nurse Family Partnership, and the
- 21 Blue Ribbon Task Force on Health Care for the Homeless, and he is
- 22 the founder of the Generation Hope Laptop Program, a college
- 23 preparatory initiative targeting middle school students; moreover,
- 24 he gives of his time and talents as chair of the National

H.R. No. 275

- 1 Organization of Black County Officials, and he is a longtime
- 2 congregant at Morningside United Methodist Church; and
- WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Brooks enjoys the love and
- 4 support of his wife, Dr. Jennifer Giddings Brooks, and he is the
- 5 proud father of a daughter, Royce, and a son, Marion; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Roy Brooks has demonstrated an exemplary commitment
- 7 to public service, and the vision and breadth of experience he
- 8 brings to his new role as president of the National Association of
- 9 Counties are sure to greatly benefit the organization; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Roy Brooks on
- 13 his election as president of the National Association of Counties
- 14 and extend to him sincere best wishes for a successful tenure; and,
- 15 be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Mr. Brooks as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.

Collier Giddings

H.R. No. 275

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

H.R	. No.	275

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 275 was adopted by the House on August 14, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House