H.R. No. 278

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Toribio Garza Jr. retired from the Texas Department
- 2 of Transportation on June 30, 2017, drawing to a close an
- 3 outstanding tenure that spanned three decades; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Garza earned his bachelor's degree in civil
- 5 engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 1986 and went
- 6 to work that year designing projects for TxDOT; a licensed
- 7 professional engineer since 1991, he held a number of positions in
- 8 Corpus Christi and the Rio Grande Valley before becoming the
- 9 director of maintenance for the Pharr District in 1999; he
- 10 continued to advance through the ranks, earning promotion to deputy
- 11 director of the department's maintenance division in 2007 and to
- 12 division director two years later; in 2013, following a brief
- 13 retirement, he returned to TxDOT and was named district engineer of
- 14 the Pharr District; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of his career with the agency,
- 16 Mr. Garza led numerous maintenance efforts, such as conducting
- 17 district peer reviews, managing state facility and security needs,
- 18 and directing statewide emergency operations; he also oversaw the
- 19 department's pavement management plan, a program that garnered the
- 20 2011 Global Road Achievement Award from the International Road
- 21 Federation; and
- WHEREAS, Toribio Garza's dedication, professionalism, and
- 23 forward-thinking leadership have greatly benefited his fellow
- 24 Texans, and he may indeed take well-deserved pride in his

H.R. No. 278

- 1 exceptional record of accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Toribio Garza
- 4 Jr. on his retirement from the Texas Department of Transportation
- 5 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 6 it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Garza as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Martinez

H.R. No. 278

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

 	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 278 was adopted by the House on August 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House