H.R. No. 288

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Boy Scouts of America Troop No. 9 in
- 2 Austin are celebrating the 100th anniversary of their troop's
- 3 founding in 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Troop No. 9 was established by Scoutmaster
- 5 J. J. Mason in May 1917, and over the years, its chartering
- 6 organizations have included the First Southern Presbyterian
- 7 Church, the Austin State School, and Our Lady of Guadalupe Church;
- 8 in 1940, the group secured sponsorship from the Bryker Woods
- 9 Elementary School PTA, beginning a partnership that has endured to
- 10 the present day; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Troop No. 9 has helped its
- 12 members develop such core values as citizenship, teamwork, and
- 13 community service while learning myriad useful skills, including
- 14 first aid, rowing, and knot tying; its scouts have also experienced
- 15 adventure and camaraderie through camping trips, hiking, canoeing,
- 16 cave exploration, and an annual stay at Lost Pines Boy Scout Camp;
- 17 and
- WHEREAS, Over the past century, Boy Scout Troop No. 9 has
- 19 equipped countless young Texans with the knowledge and confidence
- 20 to face the challenges and opportunities of adulthood, and it is
- 21 indeed a pleasure to join in recognizing this momentous milestone
- 22 in the group's rich history; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate the 100th

H.R. No. 288

- 1 anniversary of Boy Scout Troop No. 9 in Austin and extend to all
- 2 those associated with the troop sincere best wishes for a
- 3 meaningful and memorable celebration; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Troop No. 9 as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Hinojosa

H.R. No. 288

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 288 was adopted by the House on August 9, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House