H.R. No. 305

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Philanthropist Frank Staggs of Laredo celebrated

his 90th birthday on July 9, 2017, in the company of his family and

3 friends; and

2

13

WHEREAS, Born in 1927, Frank Staggs was raised in Mirando

5 City by loving parents who taught him to value character and to

6 practice tolerance and respect; he served his country during World

7 War II and subsequently embarked on a career in education, rising to

8 become principal of Lamar Junior High School and director of

9 secondary education for the Laredo Independent School District;

10 after his retirement, he focused on his cattle ranch, which he has

11 now operated for more than six decades; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Staggs shared a rewarding relationship with his

wife, Maria Julieta Staggs, until her passing in 2015; he is the

14 proud father of two sons, Pancho and Raul; deeply committed to

15 expanding access to higher education, he has been a generous

16 supporter of the Texas A&M International University Texas Academy

17 of International and STEM Studies; the program offers full tuition

18 to gifted and highly motivated high school juniors and seniors, who

19 can earn up to two years of TAMIU credits while completing high

20 school; and

21 WHEREAS, Through his exceptional contributions, Frank Staggs

22 has made a lasting, positive difference in the community, and his

23 wisdom, optimism, kindness, and wit continue to enrich the lives of

24 all who are fortunate enough to know him; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 305

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby recognize Frank Staggs on
- 3 his 90th birthday and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Staggs as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Raymond

TT	D	$N \cap$	305

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 305 was adopted by the House on August 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House