RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Jamie Sullins is concluding her distinguished
tenure on the board of the Arlington Independent School District in
2017; and

WHEREAS, First elected in 2010, Ms. Sullins most recently 4 served as president of the board, which was named both the 2014 5 Outstanding School Board of Texas by the Texas Association of 6 School Administrators and the 2015 Outstanding School Board by the 7 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards program; the board developed a 8 9 clear vision for the district in its rigorous strategic planning process, an approach that has enabled strong governance through 10 11 transformation while fostering а culture of respect and 12 transparency; and

13 WHEREAS, From 2015 to 2017, Ms. Sullins also served on the 14 board of the Council of the Great City Schools; she is the founder and former president of the North Arlington Education Alliance, 15 16 which works closely with the district to promote academic excellence; in addition, she has given generously of her time and 17 expertise as a member of the advisory boards of the Salvation Army 18 of Arlington, Junior League of Arlington, and Arlington Chamber of 19 20 Commerce; and

21 WHEREAS, Ms. Sullins has brought to her role on the school 22 board extensive experience in the realm of finance; she was 23 employed at Interturbine Group of Companies as manager of financial 24 planning and analysis in its global operations, and she also worked

1

1 for Lockheed Martin Missiles and Advanced Programs; a graduate of 2 Texas Tech University, she holds a bachelor's degree of business 3 administration in finance; in all her endeavors, she is supported 4 by the love and encouragement of her husband, Gerald; they are the 5 proud parents of two AISD graduates, Ryan and Amanda; and

6 WHEREAS, Through her leadership and deep commitment to public 7 education, Jamie Sullins has greatly benefited the community, and 8 she may reflect with pride on her contributions to the local school 9 system; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 11 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Jamie Sullins for her 12 service on the board of the Arlington Independent School District 13 and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 14 further

15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 16 prepared for Ms. Sullins as an expression of high regard by the 17 Texas House of Representatives.

> Turner Zedler Krause Stickland Tinderholt

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 353 was adopted by the House on August 14, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House