SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Roy Ortega, who is retiring as community relations manager of Project Amistad after a long and distinguished career in journalism and public service; and

WHEREAS, Roy Ortega began his career after earning a degree in mass communication and broadcast journalism from The University of Texas at Austin in 1976; in 1982, he moved to El Paso, where he served as a news anchor and reporter at KVIA-TV for more than a decade; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ortega went on to work as station manager and news director at KINT-TV and as news director at KTSM-TV before joining the *El Paso Times* in 2000 as a multimedia editor; he entered the field of community service in 2010 as community relations and funds development manager at Project Bravo, where he played an important role in raising public awareness of the benefits available to low-income, disabled, and elderly residents through federal and state programs; and

MHEREAS, He joined Project Amistad in 2014 to serve as community relations manager, and he has played a vital role in helping the organization provide an array of social services across West Texas; through the years, he has also served as a volunteer for a wide range of community organizations and has received numerous awards for his work in the community; and

WHEREAS, He is respected and admired by his colleagues and by the citizens of El Paso, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition for his many achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Roy Ortega on more than 40 years of valued public service and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Rodríguez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 18, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate