SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 6

WHEREAS, For their lifesaving actions on June 5, 2016, members of the Marshall Fire Department received the 2017 Crew of the Year Award from the Texas Emergency Medical Services for Children State Partnership; and

WHEREAS, During an afternoon cookout in Marshall, a three-year-old girl was swimming with other children when she slipped out of her life vest and sank to the bottom of the pool; and

WHEREAS, A family friend, Officer Matt Cooper, quickly dove through the water to retrieve the young girl, who was not breathing and who had no pulse; Battalion Chief Randall Jeans, of the Marshall Fire Department, retired Battalion Chief Mike Jeans, and registered nurse Kim Heath were in attendance that day and rendered CPR until the toddler was able to breathe on her own; and

WHEREAS, Soon after, an ambulance crew, which included Lieutenant John Wilson and firefighters Justin Cox, Kyle Cates, and Jordan Allen, arrived on the scene to transport the girl to the emergency room; the following day, she was released from the hospital, and she has since made a full recovery; and

WHEREAS, Faced with a crisis situation, these inspiring public servants drew on their training to avert what could have been a tragic event, and in so doing, they exemplified the highest ideals of their profession; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the Marshall Fire Department on its receipt of the 2017 Crew of the Year Award from the Texas Emergency Medical Services for Children State Partnership and extend to the department's members sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Marshall Fire Department as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 18, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate