SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 81

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the congregation of Greater Truevine Missionary Baptist Church in recognizing Pastor Aaron Stewart Jr. for his 43 years of dedicated pastoral leadership; and

WHEREAS, Aaron Stewart is a 1952 graduate of Booker T. Washington High School in Houston; he continued his education at Texas Southern University, and he served with distinction in the United States Air Force during the Korean War; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Stewart answered the call of leadership at Greater Truevine Missionary Baptist Church in 1974, and in the years that have followed, he has ministered faithfully to the needs of innumerable Christians; and

WHEREAS, Under his outstanding leadership, the church has provided enlightenment and hope to the community and has undertaken many worthy projects for the benefit of those in need; and WHEREAS, Inspirational and dedicated to helping others,

WHEREAS, Inspirational and dedicated to helping others, this beloved pastor has devoted his time and energy unselfishly to the members of his church; he has counseled them in times of hardship and rejoiced with them in times of prosperity; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Stewart has had a positive influence on the lives of many; congregants and loved ones joined him in celebrating his pastoral anniversary and retirement at a church gathering on July 23, 2017; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Pastor Aaron Stewart Jr. for his many contributions to the Houston community and for 43 years of loyal service as pastor of Greater Truevine Missionary Baptist Church and extend to him best wishes on the occasion of his retirement; and be it further

occasion of his retirement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Garcia

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 28, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate