## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 159

WHEREAS, Proud members of the Republican Party of Texas are celebrating the organization's 150th anniversary in 2017; and

WHEREAS, The Republican Party of Texas was founded at the Harris County Courthouse on the Fourth of July, 1867, 13 years after the national party was established and 7 years after the election of the first Republican president, Abraham Lincoln; former governor Elisha M. Pease served as chair of that initial state convention, and Colonel John L. Haynes, commander of the United States Army's First Texas Cavalry, became the executive committee chair; the party's membership in its early years was largely made up of former slaves, German American immigrants, and Texans who had opposed secession during the Civil War; and

WHEREAS, Notable early Texas Republicans included Edmund J. Davis, the state's first Republican governor, Morgan C. Hamilton, a Republican senator, George T. Ruby, an African American state senator from Galveston, and Norris Wright Cuney, a prominent African American leader and a member of the Republican National Committee from 1886 to 1896; and

WHEREAS, The party gained strength in the Lone Star State in the 20th century when Dwight Eisenhower carried Texas in the 1952 presidential election, and its fortunes were boosted again in 1961 when John Tower was elected to replace Lyndon Johnson in the United States Senate; a new era began in 1978, when William P. Clements took office as the first Republican governor since Reconstruction, and from the 1980s to the present, Texas has been represented in the United States Congress by a series of accomplished Republican leaders, including Senators Phil Gramm, Kay Bailey Hutchison, John Cornyn, and Ted Cruz, as well as numerous members of the United States House of Representatives; Republicans have taken on an increasingly prominent role in state and local government as well; the party has held the governor's office since 1994, with George W. Bush, Rick Perry, and Greg Abbott serving as chief executive, and Republicans have swept the other statewide offices in five consecutive elections and have held a majority in the Texas Senate since 1997 and in the Texas House of Representatives since 2003; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to the tireless service and exemplary leadership of countless men and women, the Republican Party continues to carry forth its core goals, including limited government, political and economic freedom, and strong national security, and its members may indeed take great pride in their invaluable contributions to our state and nation; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate the sesquicentennial of the Republican Party of Texas; and, be it further

S.R. No. 159

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Republican Party of Texas as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Bettencourt

Birdwell Buckingham Burton Campbell Creighton Estes Hall Hancock Huffines Huffman Hughes Kolkhorst Nelson

Nichols Perry Schwertner Seliger Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 15, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate