H.C.R. No. 71
         WHEREAS, United States Army veteran Margarito Peña of
  Pleasanton rendered outstanding service to his country during World
  War II and the Korean War; and
         WHEREAS, A native of Poteet, Mr. Peña enlisted in the army in
  1943 and was soon deployed to England for combat training; he
  subsequently joined the 23rd Infantry Regiment, G Company, which
  fought across the European theater, including in France, Belgium,
  and Germany; just a few years later, he again answered his nation's
  call to arms by serving in the Korean War; and
         WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman received numerous military
  awards during his tours of duty, including two Purple Hearts for
  injuries sustained in combat, as well as a Bronze Star; later in
  life, he was invited to visit the World War II Memorial in
  Washington, D.C., by the Alamo Honor Flight program, which is
  dedicated to recognizing the sacrifice, courage, and loyalty of
  American veterans; and
         WHEREAS, Margarito Peña exemplifies the valor and resilience
  of that proud generation of Americans who stepped forward to defend
  their country during some of its darkest hours, and he has indeed
  earned the lasting gratitude of his fellow citizens; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 85th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby honor Margarito Peña for his exemplary military service
  during World War II and the Korean War and extend to him profound
  appreciation for his selfless and steadfast efforts; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Peña as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives and Senate.
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 71 was adopted by the House on March
  6, 2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 71 was adopted by the Senate on March
  29, 2017, by a viva-voce vote.
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________