H.R. No. 1046
         WHEREAS, Proud residents of Brewster County are gathering in
  Austin on March 22, 2017, to celebrate Brewster County Day at the
  State Capitol; and
         WHEREAS, Situated in the Trans-Pecos region of West Texas,
  Brewster County is the largest county in the state, nearly as large
  as the states of Connecticut and Rhode Island put together; its
  striking landscape includes mountains, desert, grasslands, and
  forest, which are rich with a variety of wildlife; and
         WHEREAS, The rugged terrain discouraged permanent settlement
  until after the Civil War, when the arrival of the railroad and the
  presence of the U.S. Army and the Texas Rangers enabled the rise of
  cattle ranching; Brewster County was established in 1887, after the
  discovery of mercury in 1884 touched off a mining boom, and by the
  early 20th century, the Chisos Mining Company was producing 20
  percent of the mercury in the nation; and
         WHEREAS, Today, the cattle industry, education, and tourism
  are essential to the county's economy and culture; located in the
  county seat of Alpine, Sul Ross State University offers students a
  wide range of bachelor's and master's degree programs, as well as a
  low student-to-teacher ratio; Big Bend National Park features
  spectacular mountain, desert, and riverine landscapes and attracts
  up to 350,000 visitors a year, and the Terlingua International
  Championship Chili Cookoff, which is held every November, draws
  competitors from across the state and nation; and
         WHEREAS, The people of Brewster County take great pride in
  their region's abundant natural beauty and fascinating history, and
  it is indeed fitting to honor them and their unique contributions to
  the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize March 22, 2017, as Brewster County Day
  at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
  best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1046 was adopted by the House on March
  22, 2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House