H.R. No. 1135
         WHEREAS, Members of the Permian Basin Petroleum Association
  are gathering in Austin on March 28, 2017, in connection with their
  legislative day; and
         WHEREAS, In 1961, the association was formed by a group of
  oilmen in West Texas and eastern New Mexico out of concerns over
  increasing federal regulation of their industry; the organization
  has since grown to become the nation's largest regional oil and gas
  association, representing nearly 1,000 members across the country;
  headquartered in Midland, it maintains offices in Austin and in
  Santa Fe, New Mexico, as well; and
         WHEREAS, The PBPA strives to ensure the safe and responsible
  development of oil and gas resources; to that end, it educates
  Permian Basin operators about best practices and encourages the
  adoption of these measures; it advances careful stewardship of the
  region's resources by promoting conservation efforts and
  supporting programs that help operators be good neighbors in the
  communities where they work; moreover, in recent years, the PBPA
  entered into an innovative Dark Skies partnership with The
  University of Texas McDonald Observatory to address light
  pollution; and
         WHEREAS, Since its inception, the PBPA has served as a voice
  for the hardworking men and women in the oil and gas business;
  today, it advocates not only for that industry but also for the
  principles of states' rights, and it has scored a number of
  victories against federal overreach and overregulation; and
         WHEREAS, The Permian Basin Petroleum Association has greatly
  benefited the industry and its members for more than a half century,
  and its contributions are indeed worthy of special recognition;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize March 28, 2017, as Permian Basin
  Petroleum Association Day at the State Capitol and extend to the
  members of the organization sincere best wishes for an enjoyable
  and productive event; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for PBPA as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
  of Representatives.
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1135 was adopted by the House on March
  28, 2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House