H.R. No. 1584
         WHEREAS, Healthy Texas Week, an annual initiative led by
  "It's Time Texas," encourages Texans to move more, eat better, and
  live well; and
         WHEREAS, In the Lone Star State, two-thirds of adults and
  more than one-third of all children are considered overweight or
  obese, and the consequences of this public health crisis are
  troubling; being overweight increases a person's risk of heart
  disease, stroke, type 2 diabetes, and other severe medical
  conditions that affect quality of life and have substantial
  economic repercussions; and
         WHEREAS, The direct health care costs of this serious
  problem, such as medicine and hospital stays, and the indirect
  costs, such as lost productivity and wages due to illness, are
  already estimated to exceed $15 billion in Texas each year and
  continue to skyrocket; and
         WHEREAS, During the first week of May, businesses are
  encouraged to promote their employees' health by supporting
  physical activity and wholesome food choices in the workplace;
  schools are called on to celebrate physical, nutritional, and
  emotional health in classrooms, and friends, families, and
  neighbors are invited to exercise together, volunteer with local
  health-based nonprofits or parks departments, and become
  health-minded consumers; and
         WHEREAS, A cultural shift is needed to make good health the
  norm in communities across the state, and Healthy Texas Week is
  helping spark conversation and action among citizens at home, work,
  and school; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize May 1-7, 2017, as Healthy Texas Week
  and encourage all residents of the Lone Star State to learn more
  about this important campaign.
  Lucio III
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1584 was adopted by the House on April
  27, 2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House