H.R. No. 1798
         WHEREAS, During the month of March 2017, the Texas Panhandle
  suffered multiple, massive wildfires, and Urrick Marshall of the
  Wheeler Volunteer Fire Department was part of a coalition of first
  responders who fought heroically and tenaciously to save the lives
  and property of Texans in the region; and
         WHEREAS, Fueled by dry vegetation, high winds, and
  unseasonably hot weather, the fast-moving wildfires broke out on
  March 6 and raged for days, destroying around 500,000 acres of Texas
  prairie land and resulting in the death of four people; the fires
  were some of the largest in state history and led to Governor Greg
  Abbott's declaring a state of emergency in six counties; and
         WHEREAS, The combined efforts of fire personnel from around
  and beyond the region, including members of local volunteer fire
  departments, were needed to contain the blazes; working exhausting
  hours in perilous conditions, these dedicated individuals risked
  their lives to halt the fires' rampage and rescue residents, and
  their contributions were vital to averting further tragedy and
  destruction; and
         WHEREAS, In answering the call of duty during this
  catastrophic crisis, Urrick Marshall demonstrated an extraordinary
  commitment to protecting the safety of his fellow citizens, and he
  has earned the enduring gratitude and admiration of Texans across
  the state; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby commend Urrick Marshall of the Wheeler Volunteer
  Fire Department for his bravery, skill, and dedication in fighting
  the Texas Panhandle wildfires of March 2017 and extend to him
  sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Marshall as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1798 was adopted by the House on May
  12, 2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House