H.R. No. 1872
         WHEREAS, The year 2017 marks the 60th anniversary of the
  creation of the Texas Water Development Board; and
         WHEREAS, In response to a devastating drought that struck
  Texas in the mid-1950s, state voters approved a constitutional
  amendment that established the board in 1957; the landmark
  legislation allowed the issuance and sale of bonds to help
  subsidize the development of surface-water supply projects, and
  TWDB was tasked with administering the fund; and
         WHEREAS, Over the decades, the board has granted
  approximately $23 billion in financial assistance to Texas
  communities and overseen the development of nine state water plans;
  today, it also collects and disseminates surface and underground
  water data, including project water availability, environmental
  impact, and water uses for both agricultural and municipal areas,
  and it provides technical services and sponsors educational
  programs on conservation; and
         WHEREAS, Since its inception, TWDB has been instrumental not
  only in facilitating the responsible development, management, and
  conservation of our state's natural resources but also in
  maintaining public health and economic growth in the Lone Star
  State, and this milestone year provides a fitting opportunity to
  recognize the agency's exceptional work; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Texas
  Water Development Board and extend to all those associated with the
  agency sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1872 was adopted by the House on May 10,
  2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House