H.R. No. 2007
         WHEREAS, The gymnastics team of Texas Woman's University
  reached the pinnacle of success by placing first at the 2017 USA
  Gymnastics Women's Collegiate National Championships, held April
  7-9 in Seattle, Washington; and
         WHEREAS, After finishing in second place in the semifinal
  round of the team competition, the Pioneers advanced to the finals,
  where they faced the University of Bridgeport, Lindenwood
  University, and Cornell University; with the national title on the
  line, five TWU athletes set or matched their career-high scores,
  and the team came from behind to clinch the crown in the final
  rotation with its solid performance in the vault; with an overall
  team score of 196.125, the Pioneers set a new school record for most
  total points, and the win marked the 10th national championship for
  the TWU gymnastics program and its first since 2008; and
         WHEREAS, Seven Pioneer gymnasts also took part in the
  individual event finals at nationals; they were paced by Mallory
  Moredock and Schyler Jones, who finished second and fourth,
  respectively, in the vault, and Alyssa Kelly, who was sixth in the
  balance beam; and
         WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Pioneers also
  received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other
  members of the roster: Erin Alderman, Jenna Cashmore, Morgan Colee,
  Madison Dickson, Megan Gentry, Kaitlyn Holley, Brandi Lazarus, Bria
  Northrop, Hope Parkin, Katie Simpson, Hannah Swoish, Abigail
  Versemann, Hunter Vincent, and Taylor Vincent; these talented
  student-athletes were guided by head coach Lisa Bowerman and
  assistant coaches Garrett Griffeth and Courtney McCool-Griffeth,
  and they received additional support from graduate assistant
  Kristin Meyers and assistant director of athletics for sports
  medicine Kris Ring; and
         WHEREAS, With their remarkable skill and determination, the
  TWU Pioneers have proven themselves one of the finest collegiate
  gymnastics squads in the nation, and their national championship
  victory has furthered the university's legacy of excellence in the
  sport; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Woman's University
  gymnastics team on winning the 2017 USA Gymnastics Women's
  Collegiate National Championships and extend to all those
  associated with the team sincere best wishes for continued success;
  and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 2007 was adopted by the House on May 16,
  2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House