85R29083 JCD-D
  By: Frullo H.R. No. 2132
         WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on the Arts has announced the
  2018 appointments for the positions of State Poet Laureate, State
  Musician, State Two-Dimensional Artist, and State
  Three-Dimensional Artist; and
         WHEREAS, The state's highest accolade for excellence in the
  arts, designation as a Texas State Artist is conferred on those
  individuals who represent the best of our rich and diverse artistic
  community and who inspire others through their unique creative
  expression; the nominations process for the awards is overseen by
  the TCA, and the final selections are made by a committee whose
  members are appointed by the governor, the lieutenant governor, and
  the speaker of the house of representatives; and
         WHEREAS, Carol Coffee Reposa has been named the 2018 State
  Poet Laureate; she is the author of four books of poetry, and her
  poems, reviews, and essays have appeared in such publications as
  the Atlanta Review, the Evansville Review, the Texas Observer,
  Southwestern American Literature, and the Valparaiso Poetry
  Review; repeatedly recognized for her work, she has been a finalist
  for the Malahat Review Long Poem Prize and a winner of the Guadalupe
  Cultural Arts Center poetry contest; she has also garnered an Arts
  and Letters Award from the Friends of the San Antonio Public
  Library, received several Pushcart Prize nominations, and been
  inducted into the Texas Institute of Letters; a professor emerita
  of English at San Antonio College, she serves today as poetry editor
  of Voices de la Luna; and
         WHEREAS, The 2018 State Musician is pianist, songwriter, and
  vocalist Marcia Ball, whose soulful ballads and rhythmic blues
  numbers, inspired by her upbringing in Texas and Louisiana, have
  earned her international acclaim; she is an inductee of the Museum
  of the Gulf Coast Music Hall of Fame and the Louisiana Music Hall of
  Fame, as well as the recipient of 10 Blues Music Awards, 8 Living
  Blues Awards, and 5 Grammy Award nominations; over the years, she
  has traveled around the globe, performing for fans at countless
  festivals, concert halls, and clubs; and
         WHEREAS, Fort Worth native Sedrick Huckaby has been selected
  as the State Two-Dimensional Artist; an assistant professor at The
  University of Texas at Arlington, where he has taught since 2009, he
  holds a bachelor's degree from Boston University and a master's
  degree from Yale University; Mr. Huckaby draws his inspiration from
  African American domestic life, and his impressive works have been
  displayed at the Art Institute of Chicago, the Minneapolis
  Institute of Art, and the Whitney Museum of American Art; since
  embarking on his career in 1999, he has received many distinctions,
  including a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Provincetown Fellowship, and a
  Joan Mitchell Foundation grant; among his most recent awards has
  been a 2016 prize in the Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition,
  hosted by the National Portrait Gallery of the Smithsonian
  Institution; and
         WHEREAS, Named the 2018 State Three-Dimensional Artist,
  Beili Liu uses common materials and elements to create
  installations that explore complex cultural issues; her work has
  been exhibited throughout Asia, Europe, and the United States by
  such institutions as the National Museum for Women in the Arts, the
  Chinese Cultural Foundation, and the Norwegian National Art and
  Cultural Center; she has been honored with a 2016 Joan Mitchell
  Painters & Sculptors Grant, a Robert Rauschenberg Foundation
  Artistic Innovation and Collaboration Grant, and a San Francisco
  Mayor's Award for her contributions to cultural exchange; a native
  of Jilin, China, she holds a master's degree from the University of
  Michigan and is currently a professor of art at The University of
  Texas at Austin; and
         WHEREAS, The artists who have been selected to these
  prestigious posts have all greatly contributed to the vibrant
  cultural life of the Lone Star State, and Texas is indeed fortunate
  to be home to these talented individuals; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the 2018 Texas State Artist
  honorees and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
  fulfillment in their creative endeavors.