In Memory
  Charles William Mays Jr.
         WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the
  citizens of Austin in mourning the loss of the Reverend Charles
  William Mays Jr.; and
         WHEREAS, Charles Mays Jr. was born on September 8, 1947, in
  Taylor; he was baptized as a young boy at the Sweet Home Baptist
  Church in Round Rock; he began a life of Christian devotion by
  serving as a junior deacon at the church, and he later became a
  deacon at the age of 19; and
         WHEREAS, Charles married Nancy Sterling on March 12, 1965,
  and they were blessed with three children; he and his family
  joined the congregation of Mount Zion Baptist Church, and he and
  his wife codirected the youth ministry at the church for more
  than two decades; Pastor Mays was ordained in 1994, and he
  continued to serve Mount Zion Baptist Church as an associate
  minister for several years; and
         WHEREAS, In June of 2000, Pastor Mays followed the call to
  lead the congregation of the Rising Star Missionary Baptist
  Church; he was a faithful leader who preached with conviction,
  and he was known for making Sunday mornings a time of joyous
  celebration; and
         WHEREAS, Pastor Mays was a devoted husband, father, and
  grandfather who was beloved throughout the community for his
  kindness, his wise counsel, and his inspiring spiritual leadership;
  he will long be remembered with respect and admiration by all who
  were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
  Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved
  family of the Reverend Charles William Mays Jr.; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas
  Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in
  memory of Charles William Mays Jr.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on January 23, 2017, by
    a rising vote.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate