WHEREAS, Community Impact Newspaper has distinguished
  itself as an important voice in Texas media; and
         WHEREAS, Launched in 2005 by John and Jennifer Garrett,
  Community Impact Newspaper initially covered Round Rock and
  Pflugerville; it now publishes 22 hyperlocal monthly editions in
  the Austin, Houston, and Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan areas,
  reaching more than 1.7 million households and businesses; according
  to INC. magazine, it ranks as the state's fastest-growing news
  organization; and
         WHEREAS, Community Impact Newspaper remains independently
  owned and locally operated and has a staff that has grown to
  include more than 180 employees; between 2007 and 2016, the
  company received 106 awards for outstanding journalism and
  advertising design from the National Newspaper Association, and
  it was named the 2015 Business of the Year by the Round Rock
  Chamber of Commerce; Mr. Garrett received the 2016 Media Award
  from the Texas School Public Relations Association, and in 2014,
  the Austin Chamber of Commerce selected him for the KPMG
  Executive Leadership Award; the Austin Business Journal selected
  him as the 2013 Best CEO in the Small Business category; and
         WHEREAS, Local newspapers are a vital and valued part of
  their readers' lives, and through its dedication to quality
  journalism, Community Impact Newspaper is serving as an
  important resource for citizens of the Lone Star State; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
  Legislature, hereby commend John and Jennifer Garrett and their
  staff on their company's success and on their many contributions
  to our state and recognize March 23, 2017, as Community Impact
  Newspaper Day at the State Capitol.
  Creighton, Huffman,   
  Kolkhorst, Taylor of Collin
                        Member, Texas Senate
       Member, Texas Senate               Member, Texas Senate
       Member, Texas Senate               Member, Texas Senate
       President of the Senate
         I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on March 27, 2017.
       Secretary of the Senate