By: Thompson of Harris

H.B. No. 1106

Substitute the following for H.B. No. 1106:

By: Kuempel

C.S.H.B. No. 1106

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the membership of the Texas Racing Commission.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 4 SECTION 1. Section 2.02(a), Texas Racing Act (Article 179e,
- 5 Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes), is amended to read as follows:
- 6 (a) The commission consists of seven members appointed by
- 7 the governor with the advice and consent of the senate and two ex
- 8 officio members who shall have the right to vote. The ex officio
- 9 members are:
- 10 (1) the chairman of the Public Safety Commission or a
- 11 member of the Public Safety Commission designated by the chairman
- 12 of the Public Safety Commission; and
- 13 (2) the commissioner of agriculture or the
- 14 commissioner's [comptroller of public accounts or the
- 15 comptroller's designee.
- SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2017.