H.C.R. No. 77

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, March 1, 2017, is University of Houston--Victoria
- 2 Day at the State Capitol, and the occasion provides a fitting
- 3 opportunity to recognize those associated with this notable
- 4 institution; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1973, the University of
- 6 Houston--Victoria boasts more than 18,000 alumni, including
- 7 acclaimed author and artist Van G. Garrett, and is meeting higher
- 8 education needs in a city that is home to over 67,000 people and
- 9 that serves as a regional hub for the seven-county area known as the
- 10 Golden Crescent; and
- 11 WHEREAS, UHV educates approximately 4,100 students annually
- 12 with about 1,000 graduates each year; the university offers 70
- 13 bachelor's and master's degree programs with concentrations in the
- 14 fields of arts and sciences, business administration, health
- 15 professions, and human development; it was the first public
- 16 university in Texas to offer an accelerated bachelor's degree
- 17 program, and it has been ranked as the fourth most affordable
- 18 college in Texas; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The only accredited four-year university in the city
- 20 of Victoria, UHV is also home to a number of formidable athletic
- 21 teams competing in baseball, softball, and men's and women's golf
- 22 and soccer; and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of President Raymond Victor
- 24 Morgan Jr., UHV has continued to grow as a diverse institution, with

H.C.R. No. 77

- 1 the student body and faculty currently representing 23 states
- 2 across the country and 39 countries worldwide; moreover, the school
- 3 has been recognized as a Hispanic Serving Institution and a
- 4 Military Friendly campus; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the University of
- 6 Houston--Victoria has provided its students with outstanding
- 7 educational opportunities that provide flexibility, promote the
- 8 financial well-being of the student, and advance the quality of
- 9 life in the community through excellence in teaching, research, and
- 10 service, and in so doing, it has played an important role in the
- 11 growth and vitality of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 12 RESOLVED, That the 85th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 13 hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as University of Houston--Victoria
- 14 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 15 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in
- 16 Austin.

Morrison

H.C.R. No. 77

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

Η.(С.	R	$N \cap$	77

			H.C.R. No. 77
Presid	lent of the Senate		Speaker of the House
I ce	ertify that H.C.R.	No. 77 was	s adopted by the House on March
1, 2017, by	y a non-record vote	•	
			Chief Clerk of the House
Ιce	ertify that H.C.R.	No. 77 was	adopted by the Senate on March
13, 2017, 1	by a viva-voce vote	•	
			Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:			
	Date		
	Governor		