H.R. No. 33

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Eight gifted young Texans have won distinction for
themselves and their schools with their selection to serve on the
2016-2017 USA Debate Team and the USA Debate Development Team; and

WHEREAS, Each year, the National Speech 4 and Debate 5 Association selects the best debaters from high schools across the nation to be members of the prestigious USA Debate Team; over the 6 7 course of the current school year, these seasoned upperclassmen are participating in nearly a dozen competitions in such cities as 8 9 Boston, New Orleans, and Los Angeles; they are also competing at events in Germany, Croatia, and Singapore, in preparation for the 10 11 world championships in Bali, Indonesia, in August 2017; and

12 WHEREAS, For the first time, a group of underclassmen have 13 also been chosen as members of the USA Debate Development Team; 14 these promising debaters are training and practicing for the unique 15 World Schools style debate format with the senior team's coaches 16 and alumni; and

WHEREAS, Of the nine students selected nationwide for the USA Debate Team, four are from Texas: Colette Faulkner and Gaurav Gawankar, both seniors at Kingwood High School, Sarah Lanier, a senior from Northland Christian School in Houston, and Nikhil Ramaswamy, a junior from Plano West Senior High School; and

WHEREAS, Four of the nine members of the USA Development Team are also Texans: Shreya Agarwala, a junior from Greenhill School in Addison, Shreyoshi Das, a junior from Flower Mound High School, and

1

Emily Grantham and Leila Saklou, both sophomores from Kingwood High
School; and

3 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State is also well represented on the 4 faculty Leadership Team, with Aaron Timmons, the director of debate 5 at Greenhill School, serving as head coach, and Cynthia Timmons, a 6 retired debate coach, serving as coach and team manager; and

7 WHEREAS, These talented young men and women and dedicated 8 leaders are working hard to promote the ideals of free and civil 9 discourse, and it is indeed a privilege to honor them at this time; 10 now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas members of the 2016-2017 13 USA Debate, Development, and Leadership Teams and extend to them 14 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the members of each team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Roberts

H.R. No. 33

2

H.R. No. 33

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 33 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House