H.R. No. 34

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District
- 2 celebrated the opening of its new Cypress Park High School on August
- 3 22, 2016; and
- WHEREAS, This handsome 592,000-square-foot facility is the
- 5 11th high school in the district, and it includes a three-story
- 6 academic wing, a community building for athletics and fine arts,
- 7 and a dining hall; the school's state-of-the-art design
- 8 incorporates natural light, collaborative classrooms, and the
- 9 latest in digital technology, including Wi-Fi throughout the
- 10 building; and
- 11 WHEREAS, For its first year, the campus is welcoming 650
- 12 freshmen, with a new class of students to be added each subsequent
- 13 year until the school is fully occupied with 3,300 students; the
- 14 incoming students themselves helped pick the school's mascot, the
- 15 tiger, and its colors, gold and black; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Cypress Park High is the first building in a
- 17 179-acre complex that will eventually include an elementary school
- 18 and a middle school, serving as the educational home for area
- 19 students from kindergarten through grade 12; and
- WHEREAS, With the dedicated efforts of Principal Chris Hecker
- 21 and his staff, as well as the steadfast support of parents and other
- 22 community members, Cypress Park High will provide its students with
- 23 a strong foundation for their future success, and it is indeed a
- 24 welcome addition to Cypress-Fairbanks ISD; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 34

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the opening of Cypress Park High
- 3 School and extend to the school's students, teachers, and staff
- 4 sincere best wishes for success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Schofield

H.R. No. 34

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 34 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House