## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The DeSoto High School football team brought its
- 2 long championship quest to a triumphant close by winning the
- 3 University Interscholastic League 6A Division 2 state title on
- 4 December 17, 2016, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After losses in the state semifinals in 2012 and
- 6 2013, the Eagles claimed the ultimate prize for the first time in
- 7 the school's history, and in so doing, ended the year with a perfect
- 8 16-0 record; along the way, they dominated their regular season
- 9 opponents, winning by an average of 30 points per game, and they
- 10 went on to excel in postseason battles against Killeen, Carroll,
- 11 Abilene, Cedar Hill, and Klein Collins High Schools to earn their
- 12 spot in the championship game; and
- WHEREAS, Facing off against Cibolo Steele High School with
- 14 the title on the line, DeSoto took command early in the first half
- 15 and maintained the lead throughout the game; the team's victory was
- 16 only briefly threatened in the fourth quarter, when Steele closed
- 17 the gap to six points, but the Eagles responded by forcing a
- 18 turnover and adding a field goal in the closing minutes to secure
- 19 the state crown; and
- WHEREAS, Under the inspiring leadership of head coach Todd
- 21 Peterman, the Eagles received valuable contributions throughout
- 22 the season from all of the student-athletes on the roster, making
- 23 their success a true team effort; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The players of the DeSoto High School football team

H.R. No. 35

- 1 demonstrated admirable skill and determination in winning the state
- 2 championship and compiling a flawless record against top
- 3 competition, and they will cherish their memories of this exemplary
- 4 accomplishment for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the DeSoto High School football
- 7 team on winning the 2016 UIL 6A Division 2 state championship and
- 8 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 9 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 35

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray

Wu Zedler

Zerwas

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Geren

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

H.R. No. 35

\_\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 35 was adopted by the House on February 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House