RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Officer Todd Little and Sergeant Alfredo Fajardo of
- 2 the Crockett Police Department demonstrated great courage in the
- 3 line of duty on March 6, 2016, when they placed themselves in harm's
- 4 way to apprehend two dangerous criminals; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In the early morning hours, Officer Little and
- 6 Sergeant Fajardo were called to the scene of a residential
- 7 disturbance, where the suspects, a man and a woman, were seen
- 8 attempting to depart the area in their vehicle; and
- 9 WHEREAS, After stopping the car, the officers spotted a
- 10 shotgun on the passenger's side near the female suspect; the
- 11 vehicle then sped away, setting off a chase, during which the
- 12 suspects began firing on the patrol cars in pursuit; the driver
- 13 eventually lost control of the vehicle and crashed off a roadway
- 14 outside of Grapeland; when he tried to fire on the officers again,
- 15 his shotgun jammed, and after a foot chase, he was apprehended and
- 16 placed under arrest; a short while later, the female suspect was
- 17 found and captured with the help of Officers Mike Merchant and
- 18 Johnny Romo of the Grapeland Police Department; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Officer Todd Little and Sergeant Alfredo Fajardo
- 20 acted with bravery in protecting the safety of the public, and their
- 21 heroic efforts have distinguished them as truly outstanding members
- 22 of the law enforcement profession; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commend Officer Todd Little and Sergeant Alfredo

H.R. No. 39

- 1 Fajardo for their exemplary actions and extend to them sincere
- 2 gratitude for their service to their community; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 4 for Officer Little and Sergeant Fajardo as an expression of high
- 5 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 39

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 39 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House