H.R. No. 50

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Chapter of the Academic 2 Language Therapy Association are gathering at the State Capitol on 3 February 8, 2017, to commemorate Dyslexia Awareness Day; and

WHEREAS, Composed of licensed dyslexia therapists and practitioners as well as parents and educators of students identified with dyslexia, Texas ALTA is dedicated to the mission of helping to provide high-quality services to students with dyslexia and related disorders; and

9 WHEREAS, One in five students has a language-based 10 disability, and dyslexia is the most common of these disabilities; 11 and

12 WHEREAS, According to recent data collected by the Texas Education Agency, dyslexia rates may be as high as 14 percent in 13 14 some Texas school districts; moreover, a 2000 study conducted at The University of Texas Medical Branch in conjunction with the 15 Texas Department of Criminal 16 Justice indicated a dyslexia prevalence of 48 percent in the Texas prison population, 17 underscoring the vital importance of early intervention; and 18

WHEREAS, The Academic Language Therapy Association promotes and supports the work of licensed language therapists and practitioners to give individuals with dyslexia every opportunity to fulfill their potential, and in so doing, it is making a positive and lasting difference in the lives of many young Texans; now, therefore, be it

1

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby honor the Texas Chapter of the Academic Language
Therapy Association and recognize February 8, 2017, as Dyslexia
Awareness Day; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Miller

H.R. No. 50

H.R. No. 50

Oliverson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 50

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 50 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House