## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, April 9, 2018, will mark the 12th anniversary of the
- 2 Dallas Mega March for American Values and Justice; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The largest public protest in the city's history,
- 4 the Mega March drew between 350,000 and 500,000 participants who
- 5 joined together in support of immigration reform; and
- 6 WHEREAS, This powerful but peaceful gathering was sponsored
- 7 by LULAC and a coalition of Dallas-area groups, and it was attended
- 8 by throngs of people who trod the mile-long parade route in the
- 9 city's downtown; wearing white and carrying signs and American
- 10 flags, marchers highlighted the positive economic impact that
- 11 immigrants have on the U.S. economy and promoted changes that would
- 12 allow foreign workers an easier means of gaining legal status and
- 13 citizenship; the Dallas event was part of a series of rallies that
- 14 occurred across the country as federal lawmakers considered
- 15 immigration reform; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Mega March offered further proof that concerned
- 17 Texans, Hispanic and non-Hispanic alike, were committed to voicing
- 18 their opinions in the immigration debate; that spirit of civic
- 19 involvement remains strong, and it continues to both animate public
- 20 discussion and drive political activism focused on a range of
- 21 critical issues in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby commemorate the 12th anniversary of the Dallas
- 24 Mega March for American Values and Justice on April 9, 2018, and pay

H.R. No. 62

- 1 tribute to all those who planned and took part in that historic
- 2 event.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 62

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman

Wray

Zerwas

Wu Zedler

Murr

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Frullo

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

Geren

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 62 was a	dopted by the House on February
17, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 62

23, 2017, by a non-record vote.