## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Through their swift and heroic actions, a number of 2 first responders in Montgomery County were instrumental in saving

3 the life of a man on February 24, 2016; and

WHEREAS, That day, Jonathan Arteaga was working on leveling a

5 mobile home when the 18-ton structure suddenly fell on top of him,

6 pinning him underneath; within minutes of the 9-1-1 call being

7 made, two deputies from the Montgomery County Sheriff's Office,

8 Brad Crandell and Kenneth Morris, arrived on the scene; after

9 determining that Mr. Arteaga still had a pulse, they enlisted the

10 help of Peter Baty of Magnolia Towing, who used a wrecker to lift

11 the home and free the gravely injured man; and

12 WHEREAS, Members of the Magnolia Volunteer Fire Department

13 promptly began performing cardiopulmonary resuscitation on

14 Mr. Arteaga, whose heart by then had stopped beating, and

15 paramedics from the Montgomery County Hospital District

16 subsequently initiated an advanced procedure known as a simple

17 thoracostomy in an attempt to reinflate his crushed lungs; the

18 procedure succeeded in restoring Mr. Arteaga's pulse, and the crews

19 moved quickly to transport him to Tomball Regional Medical Center,

20 where a trauma surgeon was standing by; once stabilized,

21 Mr. Arteaga was transferred by Life Flight to Memorial

22 Hermann--Texas Medical Center for further treatment; today, having

23 survived in the face of tremendous odds, he continues to make gains

24 on his long road to recovery; and

H.R. No. 80

1 WHEREAS, Deserving of profound gratitude and recognition for their role in rescuing Mr. Arteaga are in-charge paramedics Carol 2 Finnegan and Micheal Fischer, attendant Isaac Shaul, supervisor 3 Sherry Sullivan, and call taker Danielle Williams of the Montgomery 4 5 County Hospital District; deputies Brad Crandell, Kenneth Morris, and David Lasalle of the Montgomery County Sheriff's Office; 6 captains Galen Hargrave and Scott Geminden, firefighters Colby 7 8 Anderson, Aaron Duhon, Brad LeVrier, Davin Heitmeyer, and Jacob Griffith, battalion chief Keith Soliz, and assistant chief Kevin 9 10 Walters of the Magnolia Volunteer Fire Department; Peter Baty of Magnolia Towing; Tomball Regional Medical Center; and the Memorial 11 12 Hermann Health System; and

WHEREAS, By acting with skill and composure when every second counted, these dedicated individuals helped to prevent a crisis situation from becoming a tragedy, and in so doing, they demonstrated extraordinary commitment to their work and to the safety and welfare of the public; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

19 Legislature hereby commend the men and women involved in the rescue

20 of Jonathan Arteaga and extend to them sincere best wishes for the

21 future.

Bell

H.R. No. 80

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman

Wray

Zerwas

Wu Zedler

Murr

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Frullo

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

Geren

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 80 was	adopted by the House on January
17, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 80

25, 2017, by a non-record vote.