H.R. No. 101

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Archbishop Emeritus Patricio Fernandez Flores of
- 2 San Antonio passed away on January 9, 2017, at the age of 87,
- 3 leaving behind an exceptional record as a pioneering leader in the
- 4 church and as a champion for social justice; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born on July 26, 1929, in Ganado to Patricio Flores
- 6 and Trinidad Fernandez de Flores, Archbishop Flores grew up in
- 7 Pearland; in his teens, he joined the fight for education equality
- 8 by organizing community fund-raisers, which eventually helped
- 9 secure the legal victory that allowed Mexican American children to
- 10 attend the local public school; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Ordained to the priesthood on May 26, 1956, Patricio
- 12 Flores spent the early years of his career in Houston, where he
- 13 served as assistant pastor of Holy Name Parish, as pastor of
- 14 Guardian Angel Parish, and as pastor of St. Joseph-St. Stephen
- 15 Parish; in 1970, he was consecrated as the first Mexican American
- 16 bishop in the United States; eight years later, he began a brief
- 17 tenure as prelate of the Diocese of El Paso, and in 1979 he was
- 18 appointed archbishop of San Antonio; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Presiding over the Archdiocese of San Antonio for
- 20 more than two decades, Archbishop Flores dedicated much of his
- 21 energies to issues affecting indigent women and children, the
- 22 elderly, and the infirm, and he remained a fervent advocate for the
- 23 rights of farmworkers; in 1987, he had the honor of welcoming Pope
- 24 John Paul II to the San Antonio Archdiocese, where the pontiff

H.R. No. 101

- 1 celebrated a mass that was attended by some 330,000 people; and
- 2 WHEREAS, A member of the Migration and Refugee Services
- 3 Department of the U.S. Catholic Conference, Archbishop Flores also
- 4 chaired the Church in Latin America Committee of the National
- 5 Conference of Catholic Bishops and the Texas Advisory Committee to
- 6 the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights; he took pride in his heritage
- 7 and encouraged other Latinos to become agents of change in their
- 8 communities; in 1986, he received the Hispanic Heritage Award for
- 9 leadership; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Profoundly devoted to his faith and to the cause of
- 11 social justice, Archbishop Patricio Flores touched the lives of
- 12 countless individuals in ways beyond measure, and his
- 13 compassionate, selfless service to the world will be remembered far
- 14 and wide with deepest appreciation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Archbishop Patricio
- 17 Fernandez Flores and extend deepest sympathy to all those who mourn
- 18 his passing; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 21 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Archbishop
- 22 Patricio Flores.

Arévalo Bernal Cortez Gervin-Hawkins Larson Minjarez Uresti

H.R. No. 101

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 101
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 101 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
ote of the House on January 17, 2017.	
	Chief Clerk of the House