H.R. No. 103

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Leander Presbyterian Church are
- 2 celebrating the 160th anniversary of their church's founding on
- 3 February 12, 2017; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Since its organization as Pleasant Hill
- 5 Presbyterian Church on February 14, 1857, this congregation has
- 6 played a vital role in its community, providing members with myriad
- 7 opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and outreach; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The church was originally located in Bagdad, one
- 9 mile to the west; when the railroad bypassed that town in 1882,
- 10 residents began to move to the new town of Leander, which had been
- 11 founded on the rail line; parishioners of Pleasant Hill erected a
- 12 church building in Leander in 1884, on land that was later deeded to
- 13 church trustees by member Sarah J. Walker; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Through the years, the congregation has benefited
- 15 from the dedicated efforts of a number of outstanding clergy and
- 16 church leaders, including its first minister, the Reverend R. M.
- 17 Overstreet, and first ruling elder, Samuel D. Carothers; today,
- 18 that tradition of service is continued by the Reverend Robert
- 19 McElwaine; and
- WHEREAS, Leander Presbyterian Church has long served as a
- 21 source of inspiration and guidance to those who worship there, and
- 22 its continued existence is a testament to the unwavering commitment
- 23 of its members and clergy, both past and present; now, therefore, be
- 24 it

H.R. No. 103

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 160th anniversary of the
- 3 founding of Leander Presbyterian Church and extend to all those
- 4 associated with the church sincere best wishes for the future; and,
- 5 be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Dale

H.R. No. 103

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 103 was adopted by the House on January 24, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House