H.R. No. 106

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. James P. Allison, chair of immunology at The 2 University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, was named the 2015 3 winner of the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award; and

WHEREAS, Presented by the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, the Lasker Awards are considered among the most prestigious scientific prizes in the world, and to date, 87 award recipients have gone on to receive the Nobel Prize in their respective fields of endeavor; and

9 WHEREAS, A highly acclaimed leader in cancer immunotherapy, Dr. Jim Allison has conducted research into the biology of T-cells, 10 11 the white blood cells that play a key role in the body's immune 12 response; his work resulted in his discovery of an antibody that stimulates the immune system to fight back against tumor cells; 13 14 recognized as a significant therapeutic breakthrough, this achievement was instrumental in the development of the drug 15 Yervoy--the first treatment shown to extend the survival of 16 patients with late-stage, untreatable melanoma; and 17

WHEREAS, Dr. Allison earned his undergraduate and doctoral degrees at The University of Texas at Austin, and he has been affiliated with a number of respected research institutions over the course of his career; since 2012, he has overseen the immunology department at MD Anderson, where his accomplishments have included the establishment of the cancer immunotherapy platform as part of the Moon Shots Program, which brings together scientists and

1

H.R. No. 106

1 clinicians to pursue new innovations in cancer treatment; he has 2 been honored with numerous professional accolades, including the 3 Science of Oncology Award from the American Society of Clinical 4 Oncology, the Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize, and the 5 International Award for Cancer Research from the Pezcoller 6 Foundation and American Association for Cancer Research; and

7 WHEREAS, The groundbreaking contributions of Dr. Jim Allison 8 have earned him a place at the forefront of a promising new field of 9 cancer research, and his efforts are inspiring other scientists in 10 the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. James P. Allison on his receipt 13 of the 2015 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award and 14 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success with his 15 important work; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for Dr. Allison as an expression of high regard by the 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Harris

2

H.R. No. 106

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 106 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House